Queen Mab's Muse

Home » blogging » Celebration Cake a Success!

Celebration Cake a Success!

Just a quick update on the 50th birthday celebration.  People came, ate, and made merry in our new home.  My great cake bake turned out, if I do say so myself, delicious!  I’m a weirdo and not a great fan of dark chocolate so the ganache frosting was chosen to please my husband but the cake with the coconut pecan filling was to die for…and so was the frosting, according to the birthday boy.  Ah sweet success!  I searched for recipes on the web and chose  David Lebovitz’s version of Mary Jo Thoresen’s recipe of Jojo’s in Oakland and formerly of Chez Panisse. http://www.davidlebovitz.com/archives/2005/09/german_chocolat_1.html

Thank you David…it was so good I neglected to tell our guests it was cake time so we lit the candles after the party and my daughter assisted her “old” man in blowing out the flames with just the three of us digging into the chocolatey desert together.

Leave a Reply

