Queen Mab's Muse

Home » Uncategorized » The Substitute

The Substitute

Today was another stint as sub.  The barren wasteland of rejection.  Looking up walking down the hall to my assignment, a student catches my eye and asks, “Who are you subbing for?”  It isn’t who she’s hoping to hear, “Darn!”  My spirits lift to go with the smile I’m giving the kids as I walk by.  Another student waves my direction and whispers to her friend, “That’s my favorite substitute.”   My heart sings.  Another day as substitute learning to listen and trying to understand.

This year is the first where I’m not a full time teacher in 22 years.  Moving to Maine to become the Ed Director of a nonprofit has opened a world of ever changing expectations, options, and opportunities.

Leave a Reply

